That man is the richest whose pleasures are the cheapest. - Henry David Thoreau
Question #1181 posted on 10/29/2003 4:02 a.m.
Q:

Dear 100 Hour Board,

When the computer in my office on campus boots up the first thing I see are the words "Alert! Cover previously removed." Then my computer goes into Windows as normal. What does that mean?

- Grad

A: Dear Grad,

It means that, at some point in time, the cover on your computer was removed. If it's really bugging you, you can try to silence the messages, but the only instructions I could find to get rid of the message are from Dell's Japanese web site, translated into English. http://babelfish.altavista.com/babelfish/urltrurl?url=http%3A%2F%2Fsupport.jp.dell.com%2Fjp%2Fjp%2Ffaq%2F100062.asp&lp=ja_en&tt=url

Good luck.

- Dellian