If you ever drop your keys into a river of molten lava, forget em', cause, man, they're gone. –Jack Handey
Question #8219 posted on 09/29/2004 4:01 a.m.

Dear 100 Hour Board,
In which session of Conference will the new Apostles be announced?
- Excited

A: Dear excited,

I think it's sad that we have to get new Apostles in the first place, of course, but my guess is the Saturday morning session. And I remember too--even if my family was at a soccer game or working on our house, we had conference on every TV and radio in the house.

This is the summary from 1995, the last time we sustained a new Apostle:
President Hinckley's remarks followed by a day the Saturday morning, April 1, solemn assembly in which President Hinckley was sustained by members of the Church throughout the world, as were his counselors, President Thomas S. Monson, First Counselor in the First Presidency, and President James E. Faust, Second Counselor in the First Presidency, and members of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles. Included in this solemn assembly sustaining of these the Lord's prophets, seers, and revelators was Elder Henry B. Eyring, formerly of the First Quorum of the Seventy, who was called to fill the vacancy in the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles.

Maybe they figure people are the most excited for Conference in the first session and awake (if you're anywhere near Mountain Time...) I'll always remember watching the Saturday morning session Saturday night at 7pm; we watched the afternoon session was on tape delay from 1-3pm on Sunday, had a picnic in Kensington Gardens during the Priesthood session (also on tape delay from 3-5pm), and then watched the morning and afternoon Sunday sessions from 5-7pm and 9-11pm, respectively. Good morning, sunshine...

- Duchess
P.S. I know you liked my tangent, didn'tcha...
A: Dear Excited-

I'm assuming that it will be during Saturday afternoon's session, during the sustaining of church officers.

A: Dear Excited,

Forget when! The question is who. I'm putting my money on Lance Wickman, Charles Didier, Gene Cook, Quintin Cook, Merrill Bateman, and Lynn Mickelsen.

-Skippy DeLorean